Lists and Tags

The Cake-Flavored Book Tag (+ small update)

Hello everyone! How are you? The last time I posted something on my blog was exactly a week ago, but it feels like months to me… Since that post, I have finished classes, my exams, and am now ready for the summer!

I am planning on keeping with my three-times-a-week posting schedule. I even opened a spread on my daily planner with posts to write (Wednesdays, Fridays and Sundays) and schedule them. I am hoping for a busy summer doing what I love the most before school starts again in September. Anywhoooo — I decided to do this tag today. It went around on bookstagram last summer and I saw Cait @ Paper Fury put it together and tweak it. Nicki @ The Secret Library also did the tag and you should totally check it out! So that’s the post today, folks!

cake flavor.jpg

1. Chocolate Cake (a dark book you absolutely love)

red clocksI’m going to pick my latest read, Red Clocks by Leni Zumas. This book is set in the United States in what is supposed to be a very close future. Since the Personhood Amendment was approved, in-vitro fertilization and abortion became illegal. It grants the rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. Those caught seeking an abortion or offering one can be charged with manslaughter.
In a little town in Oregon, the lives of four women pose the question of “what is a woman for?” There’s the mender, the daughter, the mother, and the biographer. In one way or another, they are all connected.
I absolutely loved this book. It was so bleak and depressing, but the themes the author chose to write about are so important. The one thing that stood out the most to me was the writing style (absolutely gorgeous!!!) and the alternating points of view. I’ll have a better review up in my monthly wrap-up post.

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

2. Vanilla Cake (a light read)

I love light reads, especially in times when I’m stressed and need something to distract me from everything. That’s why I love young-adult contemporaries. If you’re looking for some fluff, I highly recommend the P.S. I Love You trilogy by Jenny Han. They’re the perfect beach read and ideal to read in between exams or when you’re just down in the dumps.

I love the fact that we get to see Lara Jean growing up. The growth arch was amazing. She went from making dumb decision after dumb decision to alternating them with logical decisions. I love my girl Lara Jean. There’s also the element of family and Lara bakes cookies and cakes a lot during the novels!

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

3. Red Velvet Cake (a book with mixed opinions)

I changed this prompt a little because I wanted to (sorry). But red velvet is that cake that is pretty good at dividing people. You either love it or hate it, most of the time. So I’m going to pick some books that people seem to like but that did not click at all for me. Some I’ve read such a long time ago that I don’t even remember the reasons exactly.

Most of these books I felt pretty “meh” about. I feel like I went into them with high expectations from hearing so many bloggers rave about them. I was expecting to love them, and I was met with disappointment. It’s not really the book’s fault, but mine.

Except Maybe Someday and Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares. They book were awful. I was so sick and furious while reading them.

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

4. Cheesecake (a book you would recommend to anyone)

Cheesecake is, clearly, the best cake in the world. No cake can even come close to comparing to it. I’ve only ever tried the refrigerated kind (yet!), but I can vouch for it. It’s just delicious!!! I’m going a little off topic…
I picked out books that could be interesting for someone who has no experience of reading that particular genre. Usually, the characters and the plot are just so enthralling that you get past your fears about that genre.

 

If you’re afraid of modern classics, pick up Of Mice and MenSlaughterhouse 5, and To Kill a Mockingbird. They’re not boring (like a lot of classics) at all and the stories are pretty moving and enticing!

If you’re afraid of adult contemporary fiction, pick up We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves. Sometimes I’m afraid to read books marketed towards adults because I don’t think I’ll “”””get it”””” but this one changed my mind. No bogus metaphors to just come across as deep, only a very interesting plot and fascinating narrator.

If you’re afraid of adult dystopias, pick up The Handmaid’s Tale. It shows a very bleak picture of reality without the old, tired trope of the girl who has to overthrow the government. It’s such an amazing book! And it is also a tv show!

If you’re afraid of epic fantasy, pick up The Name of the Wind. It’s, in my opinion, the single best epic fantasy novel out there. It’s even better than Game of Thrones! I love the main characters and how we see Kvoth grow up into a badass mysterious character.

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

5. Coffee Cake (a book you started but never finished)

I hate leaving books on my DNF Goodreads shelf when I don’t hate them. I usually abandon books I’m not enjoying and don’t even lose sleep. But sometimes, because life gets in the way, I put books I’m actually enjoying on the back burner. And it drives me nuts!!! Currently, I have three books in this annoying virtual shelf — all for different reasons.

I put down The Romanovs because it’s a huge book that I couldn’t carry around with me to read on public transport. I’m also visiting Russia in August, so I want to read it while I’m not rushed and take everything in.
Turtles All the Way Down is on stand-by because I keep forgetting I own the audiobook and the e-book copies. And then there’s always stuff I want to read first! But this is getting ridiculous, seeing that I started it in January.
I was really enjoying Station Eleven until I got to a chapter where I couldn’t remember any of the characters’ names. I felt so bummed and lazy to go back that I put it down. However, I still very much want to pick it back up!

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

6. Carrot Cake (a book with great writing)

I have no idea what the link is between carrots and great writing, but I thought it was funny so I’m including it! Although I don’t talk much about it, I love Tahereh Mafi’s writing (at least I did when I read her Shatter Me series!) It has been quite a while since I’ve picked up one of her books, but from what I remember, that woman knew how to craft beautiful sentences!

original.png

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

7. Tiramisu (a book that left you wanting more)

aristotle and dante

Again, no idea where this connection comes from. Tiramisu is delicious. But I will go with the same answer Cait gave because it’s the first book that comes to mind when I think of this prompt.
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe just left off on the worst point in the narrative. It was so frustrating! Sometimes it’s pleasing when there’s an open ending or when the author doesn’t go the route you were expecting. But this is not the case with Aristotle & Dante. I was so sad it didn’t go on!

 

Post Separater Line Drawing Leaf

And this is my list! I hope you enjoyed reading this tag. I’m not on my feet 100% yet but when I feel myself again I’ll be back to blogging more regularly and consistently!

If you want to do this tag, I’ll be more than happy to read it! Just link back to this post or leave your link in the comment section 😊

rita signature

4 thoughts on “The Cake-Flavored Book Tag (+ small update)

  1. Lovely answers – I love this tag, it makes me hungry haha 🙂 I love the To All The Boys series, it’s the perfect feel-good beach read ❤ ❤ ❤

    Like

Leave a comment