Booktube-A-Thon Reading List (TBR)

The best week of the reading year starts tomorrow! If you’re not familiar with the Booktube-A-Thon it’s a week-long readathon (a reading marathon!) hosted by Ariel Bissett and it will take place from July 24th to July 30th.

Every year there are three kinds of challenges: seven reading challenges, instagram challenges, and video challenges. You don’t have to complete all seven challenges, you just need to have fun!

This is my second attempt at the Booktube-A-Thon, and like last year I’m going to try and complete all seven reading challenges, while tracking everything I read. This is honestly one of my favorite times of the year, and I can’t wait to hear from you whether or not you’re also participating, and which books are on your TBR.

Booktube-a-thon

If you want to know what I’ll be reading during this week, keep on reading this post!


 

The seven reading challenges are:

  • Read a book with a person on the cover; 
  • Read a hyped book; 
  • Finish a book in one day; 
  • Read about a character that is very different from you; 
  • Finish a book completely outdoors;
  • Read a book you bought because of the cover; 
  • Read seven books.

 


TBR

 

Eliza and Her Monsters

by Francesca Zappia

31931941

Challenge being completed: “Read a book with a person on the cover” and “Read a book you bought because of the cover” and “Read seven books”

This book follows the story of Eliza, an anonymous online creator of an insanely popular webcomic series called Monstrous Sea. She lives most of her life online, but her secret passion is accidentally shared with the world making her lose anonymity.

This has everything for me to like it. It’s about an artist, owning up to her passion and showing her face, and it has a writer love interest! I love reading contemporary all year-round, but it feels even more fitting to be reading this during the summer.

 

 


Always and Forever, Lara Jean

by Jenny Han

Challenge being completed: “Read a hyped book” and “Read seven books”30312860

This is the third and final book in the To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before series. Lara Jean is in her senior year of high school and now she must make some pretty important decisions about the future.

I can’t say anything else about the book because I’d be spoiling it for whoever hasn’t read the two previous books, however I don’t have high hopes for this one. I’ve read her Summer trilogy and the books got worse and worse for me. And because I didn’t like the second book in this series, I’m not expecting much — but this is a hyped book so I’m giving it a go.

 

 


The Vegetarian

by Han Kang

25489025

Challenge being completed: “Finish a book in one day” and “Read seven books”

Yeong-hye is a South Korean woman who, after having a horrific nightmare, has decided to cut meat out from her diet. We read about her going through this change in lifestyle in a society where societal conventions are strictly followed, and about the reaction of those close to her to this decision.

This book was so hyped when it first came out and, from what I read back then, with a reason. I can’t wait to dive into this one!

 

 


 

The Sun Is Also a Star

by Nicola Yoon

28763485

Challenge being completed: “Read a book about a character that is very different from you” and “Read seven books”

The main character in this book is a Jamaican girl living in the US and about to be deported, along with her parents. This has also been very hyped (bonus points for me???) so I won’t go too much into the plot, as I’ve written about this in my Summer TBR post.

The main character is obviously very different from me, and she finds herself in a situation I hope to never be in. This is also a contemporary, so I’m really looking forward to reading it.

 

 


 

When Dimple Met Rishi

by Sandhya Menon

Challenge being completed: “Read seven books”28458598

I don’t know much about this book apart from what I’ve read on Goodreads, but from what I can tell it’s about an Indian girl, Dimple, who graduates high school and is going to a summer program for aspiring web developers. Rishi is an Indian boy who will also attend the same summer program, and is told by his parents that his future wife will be there too.

As you might have guessed, these teens’ parents are trying to set them up for marriage, and I expect it to be every bit as angsty and cute as it’s promising to be.

 

 


 

Juliet Takes a Breath

by Gabby Rivera

Challenges being completed: “Read seven books” and “Finish a book outside”28648863

I received a copy of this book a while ago for a review, but because I was busy with school and my motivation to read was at an all-time low, I never got around to it.

This book follows a Puerto Rican girl, Juliet, who is moving from the Bronx in New York City to Portland, Oregon. She has just came out to her family as a lesbian, and is trying to figure herself out during the course of this summer, which she will spend interning with the author of her favorite book.

This seems to be really interesting, and I can’t wait to read from this new point of view!

 

 


 

This Adventure Ends

by Emma Mills

Challenges being completed: “Read seven books”27779275

I don’t know a lot about this novel, but Goodreads tells me that it’s about a girl starting her life in a new town in Florida. She becomes close friends with Vera and her twin brother Gabe, being sucked into their intriguing lives. When a painting goes missing, Sloane — the main character — takes on the responsibility of tracking it down and returning it to its place.

This is one of the books I’m looking the most forwards to reading during this week. I mean, friendship, art and romance? Sign me up. Also, can we please talk about how beautiful the cover is?

 

 


Are you also doing the readathon? Let me know what you’re reading!

2 thoughts on “Booktube-A-Thon Reading List (TBR)

Deixe uma Resposta

