Books I Want to Read this Summer

Before I get to the list of the books I’m dying to read this summer I’d like to say that I’m finally back and ready to blog! I haven’t posted anything in a little under three and a half months, and my only excuse is that I was very busy with school and on a big reading slump I’m only now getting over. But now that I have no deadlines looming over my head, I can finally put my heart into this community once again!

summer tbr


1. The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

1215032

If there’s a time for long books, then that is summer. Being able to dive into a fictional world for hours at a time without having to worry about school deadlines and being worried about losing studying time is my definition of a good time. This is one of the reasons why Patrick Rothfuss’s The King Chronicle trilogy is a perfect summer read.

This is the second book in that trilogy, so I don’t want to leave a synopsis and spoil it for those of you who haven’t read the first book The Name of the WindI will, however, say that it involves magic, a witty young protagonist, mysterious libraries and an epic journey through a fictional land. If that isn’t enough to convince you to read this series, I’ll leave a quote from the first book down below.

My name is Kvothe.
I have stolen princesses back from sleeping barrow kings. I burned down the town of Trebon. I have spent the night with Felurian and left with both my sanity and my life. I was expelled from the University at a younger age than most people are allowed in. I tread paths by moonlight that others fear to speak of during day. I have talked to Gods, loved women, and written songs that make the minstrels weep.
You may have heard of me.

The Name of the Wind was one of my favorite books of 2016, and I expect to love The Wise Man’s Fear too.


2. Those Who Leave And Those Who Stay by Elena Ferrante

23156040

This is the third book in the quartet that is the Neapolitan Novels.

Each book follows the lives of Lila and Elena as they grow up in a low-income neighborhood in Naples, Italy.

Both girls are now adults in this book, and I can’t wait to see how they handle adulthood and all the unresolved issues from the previous volume.

You can read about the first book in the quartet here.


3. The Accidental by Ali Smith

127630

The Accidental is about a thirtysomething-year-old woman who shows up at the door of the cottage the Smarts are renting for the summer. Amber doesn’t know anyone, but manages to convince every family member that she’s somehow related to them.

It’s no secret that I love Ali Smith. Her writing style is superb and chaotic and the way she plays with points of view is unique. Almost all the short stories I’ve read that were written by her have some crazy, unbelievable plot line, which makes them even more exciting! Because this is set during the summer and has been written by Ali Smith I can’t wait to finally get around to it.


4. The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

28763485This is one of those books that reading the synopsis makes me cringe at how corny it sounds, but because it’s summer and cheesy young adult novels are my guilty pleasure, I’m including it in this list.

The Sun Is Also a Star follows a Natasha, a young woman who is about to be deported along with her family to Jamaica, and Daniel, a young man who is headed to an interview with a Yale alum. In the twelve-hours Natasha still has in American soil they meet and fall in love.

hate hate hate insta-romances, that’s one of the tropes I hate the most in young-adult literature, however I’ve heard a lot of booktubers and book bloggers say that this book manages to create a good romance, despite it being an insta-romance. I can’t wait to read it and see how Yoon has handled this trope.


5. The Girls by Emma Cline

26893819

This book is about a lonely girl who meets a group of interesting and “cool” girls at a park in Northern California. She is lured in by their freedom and their air of independence, and spends more and more time with the group. Eventually she is drawn in a soon-to-be cult and has her life thrown upside down.

If there’s one thing that I love reading about during the summer is intrigue, and this book seems to filled with it. I also happen to find cults extremely fascinating, which makes this book even more appealing to me. Moreover, this book was a hit last summer and has been hyped in the bookish community. I can say with certainty that I’m pumped to read it!



These are the books I’m looking the most forward to reading this summer.

What are your most anticipated summer reads?

3 thoughts on “Books I Want to Read this Summer

  1. delphinespublications diz:

    Hey there Rita and welcome back to the book blogging community!
    Ahh! I hear ya – I’ve been in an utterly atrocious reading slump lately. I just graduated university like two weeks ago and have been so tired and lazy following the last few months of heightened school stress.
    Looks like you got some great reads there. Aww! The Accidental – that’s such a heartwarming read – definitely perfect for the summer at the beach.
    I look forward to reading more from you soon as well as your reviews for your new reads!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Gostar

Deixe uma Resposta

