Favorite Quotes in Literature

I love a good quote. When a writer manages to fit the book’s main theme, the character’s nature or describe something I am feeling into a beautifully crafted sentence, I will instantly feel more connected to the book. Over the course of my years as a reader I’ve come across many quotes that have resonated with me and today I thought I’d share it with you.

quotes


“I am no bird; and no net ensnares me: I am a free human being with an independent will.”

 Jane Eyre, Charlottle Brontë

 

Jane Eyre is one of my all-time favorite characters because of her independent nature. I didn’t expect less coming from her.


“He’s more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

– Wuthering HeightsEmily Brontë

 


“The whole way here I saw wonderful things to paint and I can’t paint at all and never could. But I know wonderful things to write and I can’t even write a letter that isn’t stupid. I never wanted to be a painter nor a writer until I came to this country. Now it’s just like being hungry all the time and there’s nothing you can ever do about it.”

– The Garden of Eden, Ernest Hemingway

 

I have never come across a quote that describes what I feel whenever I want to create as well as this one. The frustration of not being confident in what I create really gets to me and drags me down. As you can imagine, this is quite shitty because at the same time there’s so much I want to share with the world but I don’t know how to do it.


“I can never read all the books I want; I can never be all the people I want and live all the lives I want. I can never train myself in all the skills I want. And why do I want? I want to live and feel all the shades, tones and variations of mental and physical experience possible in my life. And I am horribly limited.”

– The Unabridged Journals of Sylvia PlathSylvia Plath

 

I love Sylvia Plath. She’s one of my favorite poets and one of the first female poets I have ever read. I remember reading her poem “Tulips” and being completely taken aback. This quote puts to paper exactly what I’m feeling at the moment — especially with all the stress of choosing what to study at university. If you’ve never read Plath, do yourself a favour and go read her works.


“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

– Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, J.K. Rowling

 

If you’ve ever dealt with mental illness or just overall mental instability, you’ll know how important these words are. I don’t think there’s something as helpful in the struggle for mental health as self-validation, and J.K. Rowling illustrated this perfectly with this quote.


“When we are struck at without reason we should strike back very hard, I am sure we should, — so hard as to teach the person who struck us never to do it again”

 Jane EyreCharlotte Brontë

 

Once again, Jane Eyre is an amazing character. In light of all the political injustices happening around the world, this quote personifies the #Resist movement perfectly.


“Words, I think, are such unpredictable creatures.
No gun, no sword, no army or king will ever be more powerful than a sentence. Swords may cut and kill, but words will stab and stay, burying themselves in our bones to become corpses we carry into the future, all the time digging and failing to rip their skeletons from our flesh.”

– Ignite Me, Tahereh Mafi

 

One of the reasons why I want to be a writer in the future is the power a few words can have. Words and knowledge are so important and must not be distorted, there are no “alternative facts” and we should all come together to fight this notion.

Also, if you’ve never read Tahereh Mafi’s books, this is an incentive for you to do so. Se crafts lots of beautiful sentences.

“What a blessing it is to love books as I love them;- to be able to converse with the dead, and to live amidst the unreal!”

– Thomas Babington Macaulay

Of course I had to have one at least one bookish quote in here. This one doesn’t even need an explanation, right?


“The world was hers for the reading.”

– A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Betty Smith

 

And I think I’ll leave you with this one!


Thank you for reading until here! Do you like writing down quotes as well? If so, tell me your favorite quote in the comment section.

Deixe uma Resposta

