Holiday BookTubeAThon 2016 (TBR)

The time has finally come! Fuzzy socks, fingerless-gloves and warm pajamas are going to be my best friends from 29th December to 31st December during the Holiday BookTubeAThon 2016.

I still have one book to read until I reach my 2016 reading goal challenge and, hopefully, during these three days I’ll surpass it. But, while I’m still waiting for my favorite time of the year – the days during which I can bury myself in books and not speak to a single soul without feeling alone, – I have a reading list to set and share, so here it is!

holiday-booktubeathon-2016-tbr

1) Read a book with your favorite color on the cover

2f718056400d99db84c30a34d8fee463My favorite color, being faithful to my very dull (but classy, I tell myself every day!) tastes, is… (drum roll) grey! I know, how very neutral. So the book I decided to listen to on Audible is Bossypants, written (and narrated) by Tina Fey.

If you haven’t heard about it, it’s a memoir written by 30 Rock creator and Saturday Night Live writer, Tina Fey, in 2011. It takes the reader on a tour through her personal life journey, from a little girl wanting to achieve “physical beauty” to her life as a mother, and through her professional life, from a girl dreaming of being on TV to being a writer for SNL. Because I’ll be listening to Fey herself reading from her own book, I expect to laugh a lot. I think this will be one to put me in a great mood for school, which starts in less than a week after the ReadAThon had ended.

2) Read a book in a genre you discovered this year

The year of 2016 was the year during which I started branching out more and reading other genres than what I was used to. Having said this, I could’ve picked a memoir or an essay collection, instead I chose poetry.

We started looking at poetry, in school for Portuguese class, in April by reading Cesário Verde, a 19th-century poet, and continued on studying one of the greatest world poets (my friend and idol) Fernando Pessoa, a 20th-century genius. Along with that came the curiosity, that soon turned into love, for slam and modern poetry.
a-crianca-em-ruinas
The book I chose to complete this challenge with is A Criança em Ruínas (or A Child in Ruins) by José Luís Peixoto, a modern day poet born and raised in Galveias, Portugal. The work is inspired by the feeling of nostalgia for childhood with several poems being dedicated to the house the poet grew up in and to his deceased father to whom he was very close to. This theme is something very close to me because of an untranslatable word in my native language, “saudade”, that describes this feeling of longing, but that’s a tale for another day. It is also worth mentioning that this collection won the prize for best poetry book of the year in 2001 and has been since translated by Hugo dos Santos. Below is an excerpt of a poem included in the English version of the book.

“one day, when tenderness has become the single rule of the morning,

I will wake in your arms.

perhaps your skin will be overly gorgeous.

and the light will include the impossible understanding of love.”

(P.S.: Can we talk about how beautiful the cover is? It has three things I adore: minimalism, white and line drawings.)

3) Read a book that was a gift

51putd03r7l-_sx317_bo1204203200_This was a book I got for myself as a “treat yo’self” gift after a hell of a week of tests and lab reports. It seems like everyone and their mothers have read My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante and I really want to join the bandwagon. As the title suggests, the novel follows the life and friendship of two girls who grew up during the 1950s in a tough neighborhood in the outskirts of Naples, Italy. The girls learn to rely on each other and form a bond that is shared throughout different stages of their lives. This is the first book in a series (The Neapolitan Novels) which revolves around these girls. I am psyched to end the year with some girl portrayals and some female friendship represented in literature!

4) Read three books

I intend on finishing this challenge! ReadAThons can be pretty tricky BUT I’ll do my best.


Are you doing this ReadAThon? If so, which books are you reading? Happy holidays and happy readings!

10 thoughts on “Holiday BookTubeAThon 2016 (TBR)

  1. Claudia diz:

    I loved this post, I hadn’t heard about the challenges for this years booktube a thon so I’m glad I read it and got some ideas for my own! I also adore your blog and will definitely be following to stay updated on any more posts you do!

    Gostar

    • Rita C. diz:

      Thank you so much! I’m glad you caught them in time, I love these challenges. I always feel like I’m living inside a bubble with all the bookish people around the world who are taking part in the readathon as well. 🙂

      Gostar

    • Rita C. diz:

      Thank you for the suggestion! I just added it to my ‘to be read’ list on Goodreads. I hope I can get my hands on the audiobook narrated by Martin Short himself. I find that memoirs written by comedians are more enjoyable when the author is narrating them as well 🙂

      Gostar

Deixe uma Resposta

